This year’s theme for Black History Month is “African Americans and the Arts.”

Let’s inspire our friends and family to raise our voices to eliminate health disparities and strengthen our vibrant community.

Let’s raise our voices to eliminate health disparities.

Liver cancer rates are rising in the Black community while declining in other ethnic communities. 

Let us all do our part to increase awareness and liver cancer prevention in our community.

LOVE YOUR LIVER LIVE

Black History Month Community Events

DrAtkinsHeadshotForm
Thursday, February 22, 2024 
7:00pm ET (6:00pm CT/4:00pm PT)
Dr. Miriam Atkins, Medical Oncologist
AO Multispecialty Clinic
DrLandryHeadshotForm
Thursday, February 29, 2024 
7:00pm CT (8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT)
Dr. Gia Landry, Transplant Hepatologist
Ochsner Baton Rouge

African Americans are

1.5x more likely

to get liver cancer and
incidence rates are on the rise

African Americans are

~2x more likely

to develop type 2 diabetes

 

African Americans are

2x more likely

to die from Hepatitis C and
can develop HCC at 
earlier stages of liver disease

African Americans have

the highest

mortality rates of any ethnic group and are less likely to be diagnosed with early stage liver cancer

Your Questions, Answered